Omni cravings

April 11, 2011 at 3:48 pm Leave a comment

So, a lot of people have been asking me a lot of weird questions.

“What if you poop when you’re giving birth?!”

“You’re so petite, aren’t you afraid you’ll have to have a C-section?”

“Is it vegan to breast feed your baby?”

My answers:

“What if I do?”

“I might be small, but my child-bearing hips were made for this.”

“If you’re going to get technical, then I guess it’s not. But it’s cheap, healthy, and no animals will be harmed during the process (except me when my nipples are chafing), so I’m going to go ahead and breast feed thank you very much.”

One question that I get tired of, but I think is perfectly normal to ask, is, “Do you have any cravings for meat and cheese?”

I thought I’d write about this after reading an article announcing that Natalie Portman recently gave up her vegan lifestyle during pregnancy because her body wanted cheese and sweets. Apparently there is no way for a rich vegan mega-celeb to obtain vegan pastries in LA. Anyway…I thought I’d give it a go and talk about cravings.

My answer to this question isn’t a simple yes or no. Truth be told, I haven’t had any true cravings for any foods. Actually, I never have had a craving in my whole life. I consider a craving to be an urgent need to put said food in my mouth, immediately if not sooner or I will hurt someone. I can’t remember any instances of this urge, even when I had PMS. Maybe that’s because I never let a hankering grow to epic proportions before satisfying it. Is a hankering the same thing as a craving? Whatever, semantics.

All that said, I have to admit, the thought of a Denver omelet sounded pretty damn good yesterday at my mom’s birthday brunch. I can’t really explain if it was that I wanted (or if my body needed) eggs, cheese, and ham, or if it was just the idea of those flavors in my mouth that was appealing. Sometimes I’ll think of something like spaghetti and meatballs and it just sounds delicious. But when it comes down to it, I don’t honestly think I could put a meatball in my mouth. I don’t actually want to eat it, I just want to daydream about it a little. I blame the fact that I used to eat these foods, and so I know they taste good. And since I want to eat pretty much everything in sight, those foods get caught up in the mix. So there’s my complicated answer to a simple question.

Last week at our big vegan community dinner, we served lasagna. I made mine with tofu ricotta, spinach and mushrooms. I took the recipe for the tofu ricotta out of Skinny Bitch in the Kitch, and took the lasagna recipe from Veganomicon. I only got to have a teeny tiny serving of it once we were through our line of 150 attendees. So I’m making it again, for just me, M and baby. Photos to come.

Entry filed under: pregnancy, vegan, vegan food, vegan pregnancy. Tags: , .

Food, glorious food! Vegan Lasagna

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Most Recent Posts


