Shalom!

April 19, 2011 at 4:45 pm Leave a comment

Hey all, it’s Passover, and as a step-Jew I attended the Pesach seder last night. If you aren’t aware of what people eat for Passover besides unleavened bread, let me just tell you that basically none of it is vegan. It’s kind of like attending Thanksgiving dinner or any other holiday with the relatives. You watch while everyone eats everything and you eat some bread and cranberry jelly, or in the case of Passover, matzo and horseradish. Well this year I decided to take one of my favorite dishes, kugel, and veganize it. It wasn’t hard since I had my trusty ol’ Veganomicon cookbook. There is an amazing spinach and noodle kugel recipe in it. I promise to branch out from this particular cookbook in future posts, but this truly is a cookbook that will keep you busy in the kitchen for a long time.

Anyway, here’s the final result. It was a real non-vegan Jew crowd-pleaser. I didn’t bother to tell my step dad that it contains tofu, as he usually forms a negative opinion about tofu dishes before he even tries them.

I know it looks kinda weird- kugel isn’t the most photogenic food in the world (poor kugel, I know). But it’s pretty damn tasty.

Entry filed under: vegan food. Tags: , , , .

Vegan Lasagna Posole

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Most Recent Posts


