Almost 29 weeks!

June 20, 2011 at 3:39 pm Leave a comment

Last Wednesday I went to my 28-week check-up. I can’t believe I’m 7 months along already! At this appointment they did a glucose test to check for gestational diabetes. I had to drink 10 oz. of this orange stuff that tasted just like thawed out Otter Pops. Delicious if you’re 10, not so much if you’re 29, but not as bad as I thought it would be. Then they took some blood. Everything turned out great, no diabetes, no signs of anemia. Just vegan power coursing through my veins! 😛

Anyway, after last month’s 10-pound gain, I was worried I would continue that trend and blow up like a giant vegan cupcake. But funnily enough, I didn’t gain so much as a pound this month. Weird! I think this baby boy is sucking all of my calories up now that he’s packing on the baby fat. Makes me feel better about stuffing my face 24/7 though.

Speaking of, here are a couple more pictures of some of the yummy dishes we’ve been eating. I read that the fetus tastes whatever I eat about 2 hours after I eat it. I love thinking about little man eating what I’m eating. It feels nice knowing I’m nourishing him with delicious nutritious food.

BBQ tofu with a Vegenaise dill sauce concoction

Tofurkey Philly cheese steak with curry potatoes and peas

BTW, these weren’t from recipes, I just whipped them up at random. For the BBQ tofu, I marinated extra firm tofu slices overnight in a sauce made of plank rub spice mix from a local spice shop, olive oil, liquid smoke, apple cider vinegar, paprika, brown sugar, and sri racha hot sauce. Then I simply cooked them up in a pan until they were crispy. The Vegenaise sauce was just Vegenaise with dill, lemon juice, and a teeny bit of apple cider vinegar.

For the cheese steaks, I sauteed green peppers, onions, and a package of Tofurkey Philly Cheese steak style slices (chopped up) with some black pepper. The curry potatoes- sauteed garlic, a jar of diced tomatoes, curry, coriander, cayenne, cumin, cinnamon (my quintessential quintet of Cs or something like that), sea salt, black pepper, potatoes and peas. It was amazing, let me tell you.

Entry filed under: vegan food, vegan pregnancy. Tags: , , , , , .

More things I’ve been eating Bad blogger! 33 weeks

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts


